God’s richest blessings, Fellowship!

As my days have gotten busier I have pondered whether or not to keep doing these .

Then on my drive to go work an overtime shift this Saturday, my Audible program ran through this passage in Hebrews:

(Basically, it’s a chapter on how people are dying because sin is there to take them out, and their hearts grow hardened.  To prevent this we are to keep on daily plotting to encourage them and spur them on.)

That is one reason why I started these in the first place: to try and obey the commandment to daily spur people on and encourage one another as long as it is called today.

When I have something positive, I try and share it so that you can all see how well God treats me and be encouraged that the same God loves you.

When things are rough, I try to boast in my weakness so that you can see how strong God is to hold someone like me up.

 

So in a bit of review, here is the passage that drives my counter-cultural desires to root down lifelong relationships, regular encouragements, and constant pursuit of God’s Truth.  It isn’t because I am super wise (I am not) or super holy (I am definitely not).  It is because I know you and care about you, and I do not want you to perish because the evil world and our own sinful natures are constantly trying to re-kill us (un-kill us regarding our baptism into Christ).  It is because I am afraid not to, because I know too well the pain that I feel when people I love turn away from Life to Death, away from Christ who saves sinners to sin that sours souls.

Hebrews 3 (courtesy of Biblegateway): 12 Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. 13 But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. 14 For we have come to share in Christ, if indeed we hold our original confidence firm to the end.15 As it is said,

“Today, if you hear his voice,
do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.”

16 For who were those who heard and yet rebelled? Was it not all those who left Egypt led by Moses? 17 And with whom was he provoked for forty years? Was it not with those who sinned, whose bodies fell in the wilderness? 18 And to whom did he swear that they would not enter his rest, but to those who were disobedient? 19 So we see that they were unable to enter because of unbelief.

-ESV

