For Thine is the Kingdom, and the Power, and the Glory, forever and ever, Amen.

Wrapping up my thoughts on the Lord’s Prayer, the prayer wraps up with some thoughts about the Lord.

The Lord’s Prayer, when I really think about it, blows me away.  There are Awesome things in here.  I use the word not in the sense of Ninja Turtles or Fast Times at Ridgemont High, but in the older sense: Full of Awe.  It can mean wonderful.  It can be terrible.  It can be both.

Here I pray this prayer, interacting to ask for the kingdom to come, though it may make me break and bend to its glory, that God’s will be done in my life and the world around me instead of just my own, that I have what I need for the day, that I have the strength to love my enemies like myself (really?!), and that a greater power than myself step between me and the supernatural Hit Squad designed to take me out for all time.

It’s a pretty big wish list.  Every single one of those things is WAY beyond my power and ability.  Yet I pray for them all the time?!  How can this HAPPEN?

This reminds me why Psalm 23 starts off with (forgive the transliteration) “YHVH roi, lo echsar”.  “I AM is my Shepherd, I will not be in need.”  It isn’t a call to the creator God, or even a reminder that the Lord of Heavenly Armies has me on his TO&E.

This title, the Name, Ha Shem, shows up in use for the first time with Moses/Moshe.  The guy who kicked Egypt (then the world’s physical and supernatural super-power) in the tender bits, shut out the sun, rained fire and brimstone, and snuffed the firstborn, that is the guy leading me every day, who knows me and cares for me like a loving shepherd.  It is amazing how much peace there is when you know your ‘big brother’ is Chuck Norris.  But we have a friend and protector who cares for us and has made trillions of stars and billions of galaxies by speaking the word “Be”.

THAT is the one who says we are to call him “Daddy”, who says that this is what we are supposed to ask for.  How can this incredible miracle, this Awesome request, these miracles occur?

Because it is the Lord’s Prayer, and his is the Kingdom, the Power, and the Glory.  He has the Power to make happen what he desires.  He has the Dominion and rightful authority over us and all people to bring it to pass.

In the end, when we see how much every good thing we accomplish only comes from him, he will have the Glory as well.

Amen, Lord, come soon.

