I wanted to sit down and get a little devotional from the Sermon on the Mount.

Instead I ended up translating Matthew 6 while doing laundry.

Guess I was thirstier for the Word of God than I had thought.

“Seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all of this will be given to you.” -Matthew 6:33.

I learned that as a children’s verse.

BUT just take it in context.  This is part of the same speech where he calls us to go reconcile with our enemies, to love our enemies, where he tells us that God will measure and forgive us as we treat our enemies, where he equates looking at a person “for the sake of our desire” to adultery and anger at our brethren with murder in the heart, where we are to cut off our hands to get into heaven (pretty sure that’s a metaphor), where a dozen other incredible things occur.

THIS is the context in which Jesus says, “Seek first the kingdom and its righteousness.”

Meep.

‘oligopistos eimi

