And I am angry.

I am righteously furious.

AM YISRAEL CHAI!

The people who committed these acts deserve to die.  They deserve to burn in hell forever.  The ones who cheer, and celebrate, and laugh at the slaughter, justifying it because the Jews built houses are sub-human scum who enable, protect, and raise murderers on purpose.  Three minutes of internet research yields videos like this one of Palestinian leaders hoping and praying for anti-Semitic genocide:

I’m so disgusted by a recent story about Palestinians handing out candy to celebrate the massacre of Jews who were worshiping in a Synagogue that I can’t sleep.

But my anger is not going to bring about the righteousness that God requires.  (James 1:20)
And in the sight of God I am not better than the people whom I feel such anger towards.  First of all, I, too am a sinner (Romans 3:23, 1 John 1:8-9). Secondly, such anger is murder in my own heart (Matthew 5:21-22).

So what can I do?  What is the best, most effective method to destroy this rotting, festering, bloodthirsty evil?  (You can apply that to Palestine or Islam as you prefer.)  Jesus chose to take that evil, that sin, that blood-guilt with him to the cross, to pay for the damnable state of his enemies with his innocence, to suffer the pain and damnation that they deserved, and then he rose victorious from the grave, defeated death, hell, and the devil, and loved us, his enemies, when we were still his enemies, still sinners.

So, what can I do?  What can anyone do?

I can love my enemy.  (Sometimes the most loving way to handle someone is to stop them, particularly if they are an abuser, or actively plotting self-harm or the harm of others.  Read Son of Hamas by a good man whose path to Christ began as an arrested Palestinian activist.)
I can show the patience and kindness of God that leads to repentance.  Why? Because I believe the Palestinians who elected, supported, voted for, protected, and sheltered Hamas and other murderers DESERVE kindness and mercy?  No, because then it would be wages earned by their good deeds.

Show love to others as we were loved by Christ, to love our enemies in more than mere words, to pray for those who persecute us, to bless those who hate and revile us… Because that is how God wants to destroy us.

He died so that our sinful selves could die, so that our sinful natures could be dragged by faith to the baptismal font, put to death, and dying, to daily waste away as we are remade by God’s grace into the image of Him who paid for us.

Amen.

Come soon, Lord Jesus, and forgive my sinful and angry heart.

This is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ came into this world to save sinners, of whom I am the worst.

