I am not a tidy person, so every one of my days begins with a battle to wring functional order out of the muzzy chaos of sleep, so that by the time I head out the door I look like every other person who has their act together.  In between the start and the and of this process I have to hunt down clothes, do battle with soap and water, rediscover my car keys, run my wallet to ground, and if it seems like these are not such an adventure that is only because I am wonderful and skilled at these oft-repeated struggles.

In all seriousness, even the best days tend to have some sort of trouble.  Cars break down.  Loved ones fall ill or struggle beyond our ability to help.  Politicians seek power over this world for one end or another.  More subtly, on the days that everything seems to be going well our own sinful nature can lure us into self-indulgence and forgetfulness of others.

So Jesus calls us to lay aside the additional burden of worry about things in the future: elections, laws, conflicts, medical tests, and as someone who works at 5 or 6 am every weekend daylight savings time is not my friend… So many thing loom large ahead of us in life.

But we aren’t supposed to waste time or energy worrying about them.  Of course part of the day’s challenge is to be responsible with savings, our health, and our surroundings, but God himself does not change what has happened in the past, and he has not let us know what will happen tomorrow.  All he has promised is that he holds tomorrow in his capable hands.

Honestly, I am not promised tomorrow on this earth.  None of us are.  What a tragedy it would be to spend my last day on earth worrying about something that would never exist!  Then I would have neither today nor tomorrow.  Today is enough to live, to love, and to rely upon my Savior who loves me where I am and carries the burdens of the future so that I don’t have to!

Matthew 6:25-34English Standard Version (ESV)

Do Not Be Anxious

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?[a] 28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

