The two proverbial phrases that hang like constellations in my heart are right next to one another, which is both convenient in that I never forget to review one when reviewing the other, and inconvenient because one comforts me while the other kicks my butt.  I’m going to do my own translation on this one because there’s either a wicked ambiguity or a clever double-meaning in the opening construct state of Proverbs 19:22

“What is desired in man is steadfast love,
and a poor man is better than a liar.”

can also read

“A man desires steadfast love,
and a poor man is better than a liar.”

 

I’m in mid-marathon right now.  My Thursday-Friday work-gasm can be described as follows:
10hr shift * Home late * 3hr nap * 3hr self-defense tutoring session * 3hr nap * 10hr shift * home late * half hour nap * 10hr shift *bed.

So this will be brief.

One of the reasons that I give up much needed sleep is that guys do better together.  It turns out that work and family aren’t totally enough for either gender, really.  Women who moved out into the isolation of the American frontier farms had a really high tendency of retreating into their diaries and then throwing themselves down wells as the lack of social interaction literally drove them suicidal.  Guys don’t tend to do much better, either, though the kind of crazy they tend to go involves prison bars or ulcers more than wells and diaries.

Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another. -Proverbs 27:17

Sometimes in life we get sharpened.  Other times we need to man up and provide the sharpening.  Our own lives and society are better off for it!

