Another day, another hysterical political attack… the one that caught my eye as I was going to bed last night was this one:

Whedon Tweet anti-gay trump.jpg

There is never enough hysteria, apparently, with what is already going on.  So what does this have to do with my God Thought today?  Let’s start with the Eighth Commandment from Luther’s Small Catechism:

Luther 8th

Now, for those of you who don’t know, I am a Constitution-focused libertarian these days.  I was a #NeverTrump guy during the election, and I am about 50-50 so far, so this isn’t coming from a Trump fan-boy.

That being said, I have no tolerance for lies from anyone in the political game, and here is the quick and easy rebuttal of this hysterical attack.

  • Chechnya, where this took place, is a Muslim-majority country and this act is consistent with Muslim law enforcement, that has nothing to do with Trump.  And wait a second, wasn’t everyone screaming about how Islamaphobic Trump is supposed to be?  I get so frustrated by the 30-second long-term memory of people who abandon what they publicly claim to believe to score a single point of virtue-signalling in the 24-hour news cycle.
  • Trump has pushed the LGBT boundaries further left for the Republican party than any Republican president in the history of the nation.
  • The first two weeks of November 2016 had news full of the ripples of Trump waiving the LGBT flag at public speaking events.Trump Rainbow
  • Trump has made high-level gay nominations in his cabinet, including his nomination as NATO ambassador, openly-gay Rick Grenell.

I have plenty of disagreements with the Orange One, but none of them are going to have any integrity if I am not just as deliberate to defend him when he is slandered and not in the wrong.

There, that took 2 minutes with Google, and as much as it saddens me that an increasing number of people are unwilling to independently verify anything, or even recall their previous position of a month, a week, or a year ago as long as they can vent their spleen in the moment.

It’s easy when there is a defense to be made, but what are we going to do when we can’t present a defense with a quick internet search and a short bullet-point list?

Sooner or later we are all going to stand in front of our creator, whose standards we have completely failed to meet.  We will stand there without even being able to meet our own standards.  Then what are we going to do?

If I trust in my own righteousness, then I am in big trouble.  But today is another day to be thankful that we don’t have to rely on our own righteousness when we face the throne.

In the oldest book of the Bible, in the times shortly after the Flood and the Tower of Babel, we already have the answer.

Even now, behold my witness is in heaven,
and he who testifies for me is on high.
My friends scorn me;
my eye pours out tears to God,
that he would argue the case of a man with God,
as a son of man does with his neighbor. -Job 16:19-21 ESV

Jesus is our witness, he testifies and defends us.  He takes his righteous life and gives it to us in our place.  He has compassion for our weaknesses and failings, and though he has every right to condemn us, Jesus is there to defend us as family and friends.

Let us embrace that peace today, and by no means turn away from the hope that rests for us.

