These blog posts have been very irregular lately, but one of the things that I have mulled over is a review of the creeds.

The three historical creeds are the Apostle’s Creed, the Nicene Creed, and the Athanasian Creed.  You see, throughout various times there were so many lies about Jesus that claimed to be Christianity that the church needed to draw a boundary line.  If you are inside of this line, then even if you do not agree with me then I can be reasonably sure that you are my brother or sister in Christ.

If you are outside of this line, then I am absolutely certain that you are not.

In today’s pluralistic society that accepts any worldview so long as it is submissive to progressive ideology, this is a repugnant topic.  So not only is it neglected, but it tends to be skimmed over when it does become the topic of discussion.

I am a practical-application theologian, and an agonist.  I try to knock down ideas to see what remains standing, and then hold the surviving thoughts as worthy of confidence.  So as I go through the creeds this summer I will keep an eye out for the applied thoughts, why these confessions mark the boundary of Christianity, and what falls apart when we go beyond them.

